SCC seeks nominations of distinguished alumni

Story posted on
SCC seeks nominations of distinguished alumni

The Salem Community College Foundation and the SCC Alumni Association seek nominations of distinguished alumni for the annual recognition program.   

The nomination letter must explain the individual’s professional achievements and community service contributions. The nominee’s current resume must be included.  Graduates of Salem Community College and its predecessor, Salem County Technical Institute, are eligible.  

Previous honorees (along with the year recognized) are Brooke M. Alston (2011); Bessie (BJ) Ayars (2019); Ida Bowen (2017); Erin L. Boyle (2014); Sharron Sparks Boyle (2004); Dennis Briening (2016); Pam Chew (2018); Dr. Edith Corbin (2005); Dr. Joseph Curione (2021); Elaine Dunner (2015); Dr. Jacob C. Farbman (2006); Gilda T. Gill (2001); Charles Hassler (2022); Mary Ellen Hassler (2017); Ralph Homan (1999); Theresa L. Howarth (2012); Jennifer Jones (2020); Sue Ann Leighty (2008); Michael M. Mulligan, Esq. (2001); Barbara E. Nixon (2009); H. Joan Pennington, Esq. (1999); R. Matthew Richards (2013); Thomas S. Shaw (1999); David Sparks (2000); Paul J. Stankard (1999); Regina Strand (2017); Carol B. Tighe (2000); Gregory T. Wright (2007); and William D. Yeldell, Jr. (2010).   

By Monday, February 27, nominators should send a one-page letter with the nominee’s current resume to Distinguished Alumni, c/o SCC Foundation, 460 Hollywood Avenue, Carneys Point, NJ 08069.   Nominations also may be e-mailed to  For more information, use that same email address.  

The Distinguished Alumni Award recipient will be honored this spring.